• 9th September 2016

    Investment Management

    Podcast summary - UK a "safe haven" for property investors

    The UK is still a “safe haven” for property investment despite the Brexit vote, according to Jason Baggaley, manager of the Standard Life Property Income investment trust.

    In our latest podcast, Baggaley tells Guy Foster, Brewin’s Head of Research, that “a lot of money still looks at the UK as being a very investable place”, with the fall in the value of the pound since the EU referendum helping to attract commercial property investors from overseas.

    Baggaley highlights that the UK has a “very attractive” leasing structure for property investors. “If you buy a building you know it’s yours, and you know the person selling it has the ability to sell it to you. That doesn’t happen everywhere,” he says. “The UK still has safe haven status.”

    However he adds that it is “still very early days” to judge the effect on the commercial property market of the UK’s decision to leave the EU. “Brexit is a process not an event, and we’re very early on in that process,” he says.

    Although there was initially a “big commotion” following the referendum in June, with open-ended property funds suspending redemptions and reducing valuations, Baggaley says the market has now calmed down. A number of funds are seeing inflows and discounts have narrowed on property investment trusts and Reits.

    Weaker sterling has “helped smooth waters” and reduced uncertainty since the vote, he says.

    Baggaley also points out that the market had already been slowing from the start of the year, following a period of strong capital growth.

    Within the Standard Life Property Income investment trust, Baggaley says he has been “taking a bit of risk off the table”, for example by selling properties needing capital expenditure.

    Also in this Brewin podcast, Ben Gutteridge, Head of Fund Research, talks to Helen Zhu, Head of China Equities at asset manager BlackRock, about prospects for the Chinese economy and stock market.

    To listen to this or other Brewin Dolphin podcasts, go to www.brewin.co.uk/sharing-our-thinking/podcasts

     

    The value of investments and any income from them can fall and you may get back less than you invested.

    If you invest in currencies other than your own, fluctuations in currency value will mean that the value of your investment will move independently of the underlying asset.

    All information within this article is for illustrative purposes only and is not intended as investment advice.

    The opinions expressed in this podcast are not necessarily the view held throughout Brewin Dolphin Ltd.

You might also enjoy...

How can we help?

020 3201 3900

01224 267 900

Graeme Bowden

07880 087347

graeme.bowden@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

028 9044 6000

Stephen Cartwright

02890 446004

Stephen.Cartwright@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0121 710 3500

Paul Cox

07768 164067

paul.cox@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01202 312 500

Andy Wheeler

07771 724625

A.Wheeler@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0117 968 9500

Jason Williams

07766 725268

jason.williams@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

020 3201 3050

Ross Slater

07920 590425

ross.slater@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

029 2034 0100

James Gadd

07833 048452

james.gadd@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01242 577 677

Jason Williams

07766 725268

jason.williams@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

+353 (0)1 260 0083

Suzanne Cashin

00353 1 2682837

Suzanne.Cashin@TilmanBrewin.ie

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01382 317 200

Graeme Bowden

07880 087347

graeme.bowden@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01473 267200

Ross Slater

07920 590425

ross.slater@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0131 225 2566

Graeme Bowden

07880 087347

graeme.bowden@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01392 440 450

Philip Thitchener

07920 190683

philip.thitchener@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0141 221 7733

Maxine Anderson

07901 977929

maxine.anderson@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01534 703 000

Antony Champion

07557 480075

antony.champion@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0113 245 9341

Owen Woolfitt

07920 801390

owen.woolfitt@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0116 242 0700

Paul Jackson

07500 797776

paul.jackson@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01522 503 000

Paul Jackson

07500 797776

paul.jackson@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

020 3201 3900

London Sales Support

0203 201 3363

londonsalessupport@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0161 839 4222

David Ryan

07795 665861

david.ryan@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01672 519 600

Susan Hazelwood

07920 496265

susan.hazelwood@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0191 279 7300

Lucie Gordon

0191 279 7325

lucie.gordon@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0115 852 5580

Paul Jackson

07500 797776

paul.jackson@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01865 255 750

Susan Hazelwood

07920 496265

susan.hazelwood@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01768 861 710

Lucie Gordon

07467 339228

lucie.gordon@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01752 334 650

Philip Thitchener

07920 190683

philip.thitchener@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01752 334 650

Philip Thitchener

07920 190683

philip.thitchener@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01737 223 722

Andy Wheeler

07771 724625

A.Wheeler@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01743 399 000

Brian Boyd

07825 732007

brian.boyd@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483