• 18th July 2016

    Investment Management

    Commercial property: down but not out

    Since the Brexit vote, some dire predictions have been made about the London commercial property market. However, in the latest Brewin Dolphin podcast, McLennan tells Ben Gutteridge, Brewin Dolphin’s head of fund research, that there is “huge appetite among overseas investors for London assets.”

    Countering some of the negativity that has infected the property market in the past few weeks she  says that it is “still possible to attract the right rent on the right buildings”, which is vital if a property fund is going to meet the income needs of investors.

    Property funds have been in the spotlight after a number suspended trading to prevent forced sales of assets as people tried to get their money out.

    Henderson’s UK property fund is among those that have closed their doors to investors wanting to exit and in the podcast Simon Hillenbrand, Henderson’s Head of UK Retail Distribution, explains the thinking behind the decision. He adds: “The ultimate intention is to reopen the fund at a time when we have raised enough cash to meet the level of redemptions.”

    Looking forward McLennan says it is still too early to know how Brexit will affect commercial property over the longer term, but she admits there is a lot  of uncertainty. Two or three deals at £40m-£50m plus will give valuers a better indication of  whether “we are seeing a new market trend in terms of yields and the profile of the purchaser.”

    However, she believes her fund is well positioned. Asked by Gutteridge if power has shifted to tenants who might demand lower rents she says: “I think we are some way off that. Our tenant quality is strong enough that we are not going to struggle with that in the short term but I’m not saying we won’t be immune to it.”

    She points to the fund’s low void rate of about 2.8%, against the IPD average of about 9% - 10%, and argues that the fund is invested in areas that look “protected” in these uncertain conditions. That includes “alternative” properties such as data centres, student accommodation, hotels and leisure, care homes and private healthcare.

    To listen to this or other Brewin Dolphin podcasts, visit Sharing our thinking - Podcasts.

     

     

     

    The value of investments can fall and you may get back less than you invested.

    Past performance is not a guide to future performance.

    All information within this publication is for illustrative purposes only and is not intended as investment advice. No investment is suitable }in all cases and you have any doubts as to an investment’s suitability then you should contact your financial adviser.

    The opinions expressed in this podcast are not necessarily the views held throughout Brewin Dolphin Ltd.

    We or a connected person may have positions in or options on the securities mentioned herein or may buy, sell or offer to make a purchase or sale of such security mentioned in this podcast. For further information, please refer to our conflicts policy.

You might also enjoy...

How can we help?

020 3201 3900

01224 267 900

Graeme Bowden

07880 087347

graeme.bowden@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

028 9044 6000

Stephen Cartwright

02890 446004

Stephen.Cartwright@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0121 710 3500

Paul Cox

07768 164067

paul.cox@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01202 312 500

Andy Wheeler

07771 724625

A.Wheeler@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0117 968 9500

Jason Williams

07766 725268

jason.williams@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

020 3201 3050

Ross Slater

07920 590425

ross.slater@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

029 2034 0100

James Gadd

07833 048452

james.gadd@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01242 577 677

Jason Williams

07766 725268

jason.williams@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

+353 (0)1 260 0083

Suzanne Cashin

00353 1 2682837

Suzanne.Cashin@TilmanBrewin.ie

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01382 317 200

Graeme Bowden

07880 087347

graeme.bowden@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01473 267200

Ross Slater

07920 590425

ross.slater@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0131 225 2566

Graeme Bowden

07880 087347

graeme.bowden@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01392 440 450

Philip Thitchener

07920 190683

philip.thitchener@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0141 221 7733

Maxine Anderson

07901 977929

maxine.anderson@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01534 703 000

Antony Champion

07557 480075

antony.champion@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0113 245 9341

Owen Woolfitt

07920 801390

owen.woolfitt@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0116 242 0700

Paul Jackson

07500 797776

paul.jackson@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01522 503 000

Paul Jackson

07500 797776

paul.jackson@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

020 3201 3900

London Sales Support

0203 201 3363

londonsalessupport@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0161 839 4222

David Ryan

07795 665861

david.ryan@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01672 519 600

Susan Hazelwood

07920 496265

susan.hazelwood@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0191 279 7300

Lucie Gordon

0191 279 7325

lucie.gordon@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0115 852 5580

Paul Jackson

07500 797776

paul.jackson@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01865 255 750

Susan Hazelwood

07920 496265

susan.hazelwood@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01768 861 710

Lucie Gordon

07467 339228

lucie.gordon@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01752 334 650

Philip Thitchener

07920 190683

philip.thitchener@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01752 334 650

Philip Thitchener

07920 190683

philip.thitchener@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01737 223 722

Andy Wheeler

07771 724625

A.Wheeler@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01743 399 000

Brian Boyd

07825 732007

brian.boyd@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483