How we can help you

You want to make the most of your money. We can help.

We specialise in helping clients tackle issues and make the most of opportunities to protect and grow their wealth. We can help you create financial plans and investment portfolios that meet your personal and professional ambitions and aspirations.

Investing tax efficiently

Paying tax is an important legal requirement. But by investing tax-efficiently, we can help you to make the most of the available allowances and incentives. These include:

  • ISAs, including Junior ISAs
  • Pensions, including Self-Invested Personal Pensions (SIPPs)
  • Capital Gains Tax (CGT) annual allowance: £11,100 in 2016/17
  • Dividend allowance: new for 2016/17, £5,000 of tax-free income
  • Personal Savings Allowance: new for 2016/17, up to £1,000 of tax-free interest
  • Venture Capital Trusts (VCTs) and Enterprise Investment Schemes (EISs)

A key advantage of having your investments managed on an individual discretionary basis is that your investment manager can be mindful of the implications of selling any investments you hold. Our clear understanding of capital gains tax allows us to help you avoid unnecessary losses in the sale of typically long-held investments.

For individuals and couples, from prevailing income tax thresholds to capital gains allowances, ISA limits and the latest dividend tax rules – we draw on a repertoire of tax-efficient investments and make certain your tax allowances are utilised efficiently and profitably:

ISAs
Along with pensions, individual savings accounts (ISAs) are the investment products with favourable tax status, which most people are familiar with. For many - encouraged by the exemption from income or capital gains - investing in equity markets via a stocks and shares ISA is their first introduction to investing as opposed to saving and an important part of many people’s portfolio.

Government backed VCT and EIS
For higher and additional-rate tax payers or those prepared to take greater investment risks, the income, CGT and inheritance tax benefits of Venture Capital Trusts (VCTs) and Enterprise Investment Schemes (EISs) may prove useful. Introduced by the government to encourage investment in smaller companies - their inherent riskiness means they are not suitable for everyone. With uniform tax breaks but diverse quality of underlying investments we approach these investment products with caution and great care.

Please note that this page was prepared as a general guide only and does not constitute tax or legal advice. While we believe it to be correct at the time of writing, Brewin Dolphin is not a tax adviser and tax law is subject to frequent change. Tax treatment depends on your individual circumstances; therefore you should not rely on this information without seeking financial advice.

No investment is suitable in all cases and if you have any doubts as to an investment's suitability then you should contact us.

Becoming a client

Becoming a client of Brewin Dolphin gives you direct access to the team of professionals looking after your affairs and managing your money, as well as a host of other benefits.

Find out more
Fees & charges

From investment management to financial planning - we are fully committed to being fair and transparent in the way we charge for our work for you.

Find out more

The value of investments and any income from them can fall and you may get back less than you invested.

How can we help?

020 3201 3900

01224 267 900

Graeme Bowden

07880 087347

graeme.bowden@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

028 9044 6000

Stephen Cartwright

02890 446004

Stephen.Cartwright@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0121 710 3500

Paul Cox

07768 164067

paul.cox@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01202 312 500

Andy Wheeler

07771 724625

A.Wheeler@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0117 968 9500

Jason Williams

07766 725268

jason.williams@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

020 3201 3050

Ross Slater

07920 590425

ross.slater@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

029 2034 0100

James Gadd

07833 048452

james.gadd@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01242 577 677

Jason Williams

07766 725268

jason.williams@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

+353 (0)1 260 0083

Suzanne Cashin

00353 1 2682837

Suzanne.Cashin@TilmanBrewin.ie

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01382 317 200

Graeme Bowden

07880 087347

graeme.bowden@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01473 267200

Ross Slater

07920 590425

ross.slater@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0131 225 2566

Graeme Bowden

07880 087347

graeme.bowden@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01392 440 450

Philip Thitchener

07920 190683

philip.thitchener@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0141 221 7733

Maxine Anderson

07901 977929

maxine.anderson@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01534 703 000

Antony Champion

07557 480075

antony.champion@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0113 245 9341

Owen Woolfitt

07920 801390

owen.woolfitt@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0116 242 0700

Paul Jackson

07500 797776

paul.jackson@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01522 503 000

Paul Jackson

07500 797776

paul.jackson@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

020 3201 3900

London Sales Support

0203 201 3363

londonsalessupport@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0161 839 4222

David Ryan

07795 665861

david.ryan@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01672 519 600

Susan Hazelwood

07920 496265

susan.hazelwood@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0191 279 7300

Lucie Gordon

0191 279 7325

lucie.gordon@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

0115 852 5580

Paul Jackson

07500 797776

paul.jackson@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01865 255 750

Susan Hazelwood

07920 496265

susan.hazelwood@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01768 861 710

Lucie Gordon

07467 339228

lucie.gordon@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01752 334 650

Philip Thitchener

07920 190683

philip.thitchener@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01752 334 650

Philip Thitchener

07920 190683

philip.thitchener@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01737 223 722

Andy Wheeler

07771 724625

A.Wheeler@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

01743 399 000

Brian Boyd

07825 732007

brian.boyd@brewin.co.uk

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

020 3201 3363

020 3201 3483

The value of investments and any income from them can fall and you may get back less than you invested.